The 2019 Heisman Trophy ceremony is Saturday at the PlayStation Theater in New York City.  

It will be televised at 8 p.m. on ESPN, a made-for-TV event that will try to create some drama around what most expect will be a landslide victory for LSU quarterback Joe Burrow.  The Ohio State tandem of Justin Fields and Chase Young also will be in New York along with Oklahoma quarterback Jalen Hurts.  

Patriot Flag Tshirt

Will Burrow win by a record-setting margin? We take a closer look at the chances Burrow sets a few Heisman records along the way. 

MORE: Will Joe Burrow break O.J. Simpson’s Heisman voting record?

Heisman Trophy odds 2019

Odds for Burrow to win the Heisman Trophy are at -30000. Fields (+2500), Young (+3300) and Hurts (+3300) would be huge payouts if they somehow pull an upset in New York.  

Why is Joe Burrow a heavy favorite?

Burrow set SEC single-season records in passing yards (4,715) and TDs (48), and he led LSU to a 13-0 records and SEC championship. That included a 393-yard, three-TD effort in a 46-41 victory at No. 1 Alabama on Nov. 9. Burrow has already cleaned up on the awards circuit. He won the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm, Walter Camp, Davey O’Brien and Maxwell Awards.  

What is the Heisman record for most first-place votes?  

USC’s O.J. Simpson (1968) received 855 first-place votes, and Ohio State’s Troy Smith (2006) received 801 first-place votes. They are the only two Heisman winners to get more than 800 first-place votes. There are 870 media votes, 57 former Heisman votes and one vote from the fans.  

Biggest Heisman voting margins 

A total of seven Heisman winners have won the award by more than 1,500 points. Here is a look at those seven winners, which Burrow should join. 

1968: O.J. Simpson, USC (+1,750 points)  

Simpson (2,853) beat out Purdue’s Leroy Keyes (1,103). Simpson rushed for 1,880 yards and 23 TDs for the Trojans.  

2006: Troy Smith, Ohio State (+1,662 points)  

Smith (2,540) led Ohio State to an undefeated regular season and a win against No. 2 Michigan in the season finale. He beat out Arkansas’ Darren McFadden (878).  

1993: Charlie Ward, Florida State (+1,622 points)  

Ward (2,310) led Florida State to the national championship, and he had a commanding margin despite missing a game. Tennessee’s Heath Shuler (688) finished second.  

1991: Desmond Howard, Michigan (+1,574)  

Howard (2,077) struck the Heisman pose after a fantastic season at Michigan, and he beat out Florida State’s Casey Weldon (503) by a wide margin.

1998: Ricky Williams, Texas (+1,563)  

Williams (2,355) broke the FBS rushing record, and that was enough to beat Kansas State’s Michael Bishop (792) by a convincing margin.  

1986: Vinny Testaverde, Miami (+1,541)  

Testaverde (2,213) beat out Temple’s Paul Palmer (672) after leading the Hurricanes to a 11-0 regular season and Fiesta Bowl matchup with Penn State.

2013: Jameis Winston, Florida State (+1,501)  

Winston (2,205) led Florida State to an undefeated regular season. He finished with 40 TDs and 10 interceptions and beat out Alabama’s A.J. McCarron (704).

Sporting News