Jeri Silverman is a hidden gem in the local music scene, but no more. The release of her brand new single ‘I Wonder’ from her forthcoming debut album ‘Dear Life’ is going to change all this.

Listen to ‘I Wonder’ here:

Delicate. Raw. Unapologetic. South African born singer-songwriter Jeri Silverman crafts soul-stirring melodies with a percussive folk pop edge. Trading Cape Town’s mountains and seas for the skyscrapers of New York City, the concrete sidewalks provided a fertile ground for self-discovery and allowed her innate songwriting talent to flourish. ‘I Wonder’ isthe first single off Jeri Silverman’s forthcoming debut album ‘Dear Life’ which is available on pre-order now from and due for release on June 29th.

Jeri explains the theme behind the new single, saying “’I Wonder’ is about slowing down to feel. It’s about finding oneself and the world in an unraveled place, exploring how we may take better care of each another and the planet – with kindness, grace and empathy. It’s ultimately a song about hope and how, through allowing ourselves to experience our grief, we can truly connect to the fullness of our joy.

‘Dear Life’ echoes this sentiment and carries the theme of finding your way through-out the record. The 12-track masterpiece is an ode to getting stuck in uncomfortable places, a yearning to fly, a prayer to unspoken desires, and a fight to discover the fire within.

‘Dear Life’ is the follow-up to Silverman’s debut EP ‘Leaflike’. With influences from artists such as Ani DiFranco, Bjork, Ben Howard and Fleetwood Mac, the album is a collection of songs that explore the interplay between the darkness and light.

Testing the waters by busking NYC’s streets and playing open mics, Jeri was encouraged by her audience’s enthusiastic response and gained the courage to take her songs to the city’s stages and studios.  Honing her craft at famous venues like The Bitter End and Rockwood Music Hall, she penned and perfected the songs that would become her debut EP ‘Leaflike’, released in 2014.  Praised as “a minor masterpiece in miniature” (indiemunity), ‘Leaflike’ received airplay across 111 stations in the US and paved the way for return appearances in South Africa, as well as opportunities to contribute her songwriting to numerous films, documentaries and international commercials.

Jeri Silverman delivers her brand new single ‘I Wonder’, debuting on South African radio this week,  available to download and stream across all digital platforms now. Pre-Order her forthcoming debut album ‘Dear Life’ now via

‘Jeri Silverman – Dear Life’ Track listing:

  1. Good Life
  2. I Wonder
  3. Bend to the Cold
  4. Fighting For
  5. If I Could
  6. Green
  7. Waiting Game
  8. Breathe
  9. Lipstick Coffee
  10. Wake
  11. Let You Go
  12. Birds


Twitter: @jerisilverman
Instagram: jerisilverman
YouTube: Jeri Silverman Music