New York-based singer-songwriter Jann Klose recently announced signing with top local independent label, Gallo Record Company, and today releases ‘Take Me 2 Forever’ as the first single from his forthcoming studio album ‘In Tandem’, set for release on Friday 25 May. The track as available exclusively on iTunes and Apple Music and fans will be thrilled to hear that the album is also available for pre-order from today with ‘Take Me 2 Forever’ as an instant download. The single will be released across all other digital platforms next Friday 20 April and a 2nd single will follow as part of the pre-order exclusive on Friday 11 May.

Listen to the brand new single ‘Take Me 2 Forever’:

Take Me 2 Forever is the first song that I co-wrote at the BMI camp in Cape Town with RJ Benjamin and James Stewart (The Usual) — RJ had the idea to use an Afro-centric beat and build a tune around it. Most of the lyrics came from James whereas I came up with most of the melody. RJ created the underlying structure and beats which we demo’d that day and I recorded the lead and backup vocals and a guitar lick. When it came time to record it for the album, RJ brought in the amazing band that plays on the entire record: Leagan Breda on drums, Ezra Erasmus on keys and Sakhile Nkosi on bass. Later on we added Tlale Makhene on percussion and Raymond Green on electric guitar. Going from a demo recording done in a day, to a live band production a few months later with these fabulous South African musicians, was a joy to watch and experience,” and Klose has been waiting patiently for the first release from the album, which is finally here.

Klose spent time in SA early last year recording his 6th studio album in partnership with the Academy of Sound Engineering, in addition to lending his time and supporting the work of Desmond Tutu’s TutuDesk foundation. The album features a selection of SA’s finest with RJ Benjamin as producer, songwriting contributions from James Stewart (The Usual), Ziyon (Liquideep), Karen Zoid (who also features on the song she co-wrote), and collab feature from Tamara Dey.

Klose explains how the album title ‘In Tandem’ came about, saying “I had the idea for the title early on… It means ‘together’ and the entire basis of this project is working together with others to create something beautiful that can tell a story of its own. Several of the artists on the album I met at a BMI writers camp in Cape Town and many have become great friends of mine over time. Quite honestly, I was at a point in my career where I just wanted to enjoy music again after years of road burn … Coming together to write songs and make music was like medicine. The fact that they ended up on this album and that it has now come to life, is a small miracle within itself. The team started with writers and artists and then added the Academy of Sound Engineering where we made the album, and now Gallo Record Company to release it. We just keep growing!”

Klose initiated a PledgeMusic crowdfunding campaign late last year and the generous contribution from fans covered all of the production costs of the album. “It was amazing to see the hardcore fans come through for us. We couldn’t have done it without them.”

Nick Matzukis and Timothy Kraft were instrumental in making the recording of the album possible in SA and Klose was so excited to record in the country most of the songs were written in. Matzukis and Kraft also engineered the album, which was recorded at the Academy of Sound Engineering in Johannesburg and Cape Town (except for the single ‘Don’t Give Up’ which was recorded and mixed at Rave Tesar’s home studio upstate New York), and Rici Martins (also known as local musician SEVVEN) mixed the album at The Hit Lab in Johannesburg.

‘In Tandem’ Tracklisting:

  1. Love High
  2. Dear Mel
  3. Don’t Give Up (feat. Annie Haslam)
  4. What Have You Got to Say?
  5. Never Fall
  6. You and I (Cosmic Love) (feat. Tamara Dey)
  7. Hochzeitslied
  8. Pour the Champagne (feat. Karen Zoid)
  9. After the Last
  10. Take Me 2 Forever
  11. What it Is
  12. Win This Fight (feat. The RJ Benjamin Voices)
  13. Wedding Song (Hochzeitslied English Version)

Born in Germany, Jann was raised in South Africa during his primary school years and recording the album in SA was unforgettable for Jann. “Returning to SA to make an album in the country I grew up in with so many amazing South African artists was a dream come true!”. His previous solo album, MOSAIC, entered the Roots Rock charts at #22, won three 2014 Independent Music Awards, and made the first round of the 2014 Grammys® in the categories Pop Vocal Album and Album Of The Year. In addition to the impressive local features on the forthcoming album, Klose has worked with a wide range of artists including Pat Benatar, John Oates of Hall and Oates, Suzanne Vega, Paula Cole, Vonda Shepard, Bret Michaels, The Byrds’ Roger McGuinn, Les Paul and local artists Shekhinah and Amanda Black. He also recently collaborated with vocal legend and Renaissance front-woman, Annie Haslam, on a cover of the popular Peter Gabriel single “Don’t Give Up” which will be included on the ‘In Tandem’ album – listen to the single here:

‘In Tandem’ is set for digital release on Friday 25 May and CD release on Monday 28 May. Pre-order Jann Klose’s brand new album ‘In Tandem’ now –


Follow Jann Klose Online

Official Site:







Follow Gallo Record Company online:


Twitter: @GalloRecordsSA

Instagram: @GalloMusicSA